Obernau Dam Reservoir

The “Obernautalsperre” (Obernau dam reservoir) is the larger of the two reservoirs of the Siegen-Wittgenstein Water Board. It has a capacity of 14.9 million m³. The catchment area of ??the drinking water reserve totals 21.5 km² of predominantly wooded and undeveloped areas on the western slope of the Rothaargebirge (Red Hair Mountain range). 365 people from four villages had to relocate for the construction of the dam.

The Obernautalsperre offers many recreational opportunities for those seeking relaxation. On a circular route that is approx. 8.5 km (around 10 km including the pre-filter basin) long and well-developed, hikers, walkers, runners, rollerbladers and cyclists can enjoy the peace and quiet and nature. Signs with information about the water and the dam, as well as information panels on nature and forestry if the region provide a wealth of information for interested hikers.

Obernautalsperre Dam is thus not only a drinking water reservoir for the people in the Siegerland and Wittgenstein, but also a unique local recreation area. The starting point of the round trip is the Obernautalsperre car park, where public toilets can also be found.

Obernautalsperre

Die Obernautalsperre ist der größere der beiden Stauseen des Wasserverbandes Siegen-Wittgenstein. Sie hat ein Fassungsvermögen von 14,9 Millionen Kubikmeter. Das Einzugsgebiet des Trinkwasser-Reservoires beträgt insgesamt 21,5 Quadratkilometer überwiegend bewaldeter und nicht bebauter Flächen am westlichen Hang des Rothaargebirges. 365 Menschen aus vier Dörfern mussten für den Bau der Talsperre umsiedeln.

Die Obernautalsperre bietet Erholung Suchenden vielseitige Möglichkeiten. Auf einem etwa 8,5 Kilometer langen und gut ausgebauten Rundweg (mit dem Vorstaubecken rund zehn Kilometer) können Wanderer, Spaziergänger, Läufer, Inliner oder Radfahrer Ruhe und Natur genießen. Schilder mit Informationen zum Thema Wasser und zur Talsperre sowie Schautafeln zur Natur und Waldwirtschaft der Region bieten lehrreichen Stoff für interessierte Wanderer.

Die Obernautalsperre ist damit nicht nur ein Trinkwasserspeicher für die Menschen in Siegerland und Wittgenstein, sonden auch ein einzigartiges Naherholungsgebiet. Ausgangspunkt ist der Parkplatz Obernautalsperre, wo es auch öffentliche Toiletten gibt.